• Montana is home to 50 species of mosquitoes in 6 genera. 
    • 75-80% of the mosquito species in Montana are from the genus (group): Aedes


  1. Aedes - 34 species
  2. Anopheles - 4 species
  3. Coquilletida - 1 species
  4. Culex - 4 species
  5. Culiseta - 6 species
  6. Psorophora - 1 species

  • Both male and female mosquitoes feed on floral nectar. In doing so, they are considered "passive pollinators" which means that they unknowingly and unintentionally aid in the pollination of plants as they are feeding. Only female mosquitoes feed on blood which is necessary for egg development. 

  • Male mosquitoes have feathery antennae, whereas female mosquitoes have non-plumose antennae

  • Mosquitoes are able to overwinter. Depending on the species, they can overwinter as eggs, larvae, or adults.

  • Mosquitoes have 4 developmental stages. The first 3 stages are aquatic. Once all life cycles are complete, they have undergone "Metamorphosis".
  1. Egg
  2. Larva
  3. Pupa
  4. Adult
  5. YouTube Video by Richard Kern: Mosquito Metamorphosis Disclaimer: You are now leaving Park County's website and are going to a website that is not operated by the County. We are not responsible for the content or availability of linked sites.

Resource: Mosquito Abatement Training Manual, MT Dept. of Ag., Helena, MT, 2017, pg. 2-10, 23-29.